Andrew Grave

Andrew Garve


A prolific writer of great variety, Paul Winterton (as Andrew Garve) wrote novels of mystery, detection, thrills, espionage, and romance. His popular characters include Inspector James and the journalist Hugh Curtis.

His first book, A Student in Russia, appeared in 1931. His first crime novel, Death Beneath Jerusalem (1938), set in Palestine, was published under the pseudonym Roger Bax. Five other Bax books followed it. In Blueprint For Murder (1948) and A Grave Case of Murder (1951) the protagonist was Inspector James, and represented the author's expertness in the genre of pure detection novels. After 1951 most of his fiction was published under the name Andrew Garve, though he has written several novels as Paul Somers.

Agent Representation

Books Anna Davis Anna Davis
+44 (0)20 7393 4400
Anna's Profile >

Theatre, Film & TV Nick Marston Nick Marston
+44 (0)20 7393 4450
Nick's Profile >