Amy Giles

Translation Rights Roxane Edouard, +44 (0)20 7393 4491 Email Roxane Edouard

Now Is Everything

book | Fiction | Nov 2017
US & Canada → HarperCollins (Ed. Rosemary Brosnan & Jessica MacLeish)

Bookish November Book Club Picks 2017

11 New YA Novels to Watch Out for in November 2017, Bustle

Featured on Barnes & Nobel Teen New Releases: Family Secrets, Epic Quests, and Alaskan Ennui

Named as one of Bank Street's Best Children's Books of the Year 2018 

Nominated for a Georgia Peach Book Award

Previously entitled Our Cosmic Second

Read the book New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith calls "powerful and haunting," and acclaimed author Peter Brown Hoffmeister calls "beautiful and sad."

Now Is Everything is a stirring debut novel told in alternating THEN and NOW chapters, perfect for Sarah Dessen and Jennifer Niven fans, about what one girl is willing to do to protect her past, present, and future.

The McCauleys look perfect on the outside. But nothing is ever as it seems, and this family is hiding a dark secret.

Hadley McCauley will do anything to keep her sister safe from their father. But when Hadley's forbidden relationship with Charlie Simmons deepens, the violence at home escalates, culminating in an explosive accident that will leave everyone changed.

When Hadley attempts to take her own life at the hospital post-accident, her friends, doctors, family, and the investigator on the case want to know why. Only Hadley knows what really happened that day, and she's not talking.

Rights

Audio Rights

Available

The audio rights are handled by HarperCollins.

Film Rights

Available

Contact Alexandra Machinist for more information

Roxane Edouard manages the translation rights for Now Is Everything

Translation Rights Sold

Dutch
World
Uitgeverij Zomer & Keunig
French
World
Editions Nathan
German
World
cbt Verlag
Norwegian
World
Gyldendal Norsk Forlag
Turkish
World
PENA
Reviews

Powerful and haunting, Now is Everything explores the complexities of family and abuse, as we follow one girl on her courageous journey to choose love over hate and hope over fear.

Amber Smith

An incredibly powerful and moving debut that is not to be missed.

Erin L. Schneider
Full Review

This beautiful and sad book will push you toward an unexpected conclusion. You won’t be able to put this novel down.

Peter Brown Hoffmeister
Full Review

An admirably crafted debut that will haunt readers.

Booklist (starred)
Full Review

Well-paced first-person chapters increase the tension as the truth of the accident slowly emerges. A tragic exploration of why people sometimes protect their abusers.

Kirkus
Full Review

A thoughtful and poignant story with a strong narrative arc and well-crafted, realistic characters.

Publishers Weekly
Full Review

Now is Everything is equal parts heartbreaking, unflinching, and hopeful. Hadley’s story will no doubt reach readers who need it.

Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters

This is a heartbreaking and sensitively told story that readers won’t soon forget.

Bookish.com

A painful, powerful and necessary read that is tinged with hope.

BookPage.com

After reading Now Is Everything, this reviewer felt like sending Giles a thank-you card for providing such an unforgettable experience. This is a must-purchase for all libraries and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen or John Green.

VOYA

Now is Everything is a gripping, suspenseful, and moving story that asks the question: what are you willing to do for the people you love? Both heart-breaking and heart-restoring, this book grabbed me from the very first line and never let go.

Robin Roe, author of A List of Cages

A must-have for collections where thrillers and realistic fiction are popular.

School Library Journal

The book effectively depicts the relentless fear and secrecy that overcomes young people and adults alike when faced with abusive relationships

The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books.
Full Review

Representation
Translation Rights
Roxane Edouard
+44 (0)20 7393 4491
Email Roxane Edouard
Books
Hillary Jacobson
+1 212 556 5600
Email Hillary Jacobson