Brandy Colbert

Books Tina Dubois, +1 212 556 5600 Email Tina Dubois

Finding Yvonne

book | Fiction | Aug 2018
World English → Little, Brown & Company (Ed. Alvina Ling)

Named in the 2019 Amelia Bloomer List

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.

Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced to face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school.

Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future.

From the author of Pointe and Little & Lion, comes another heartfelt novel about the twists and turns that can show up on a path meant only for you.

Rights

Film Rights

Available

Contact Tina Dubois for more information

Audio Rights

Available

The audio rights are handled by Little, Brown & Company.

Roxane Edouard manages the translation rights for Finding Yvonne

Reviews

A pitch-perfect song of a book about all the ways a heart can break and mend, Finding Yvonne will stay with you long past its final, bittersweet notes.

Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of

Brandy Colbert has crafted a meaningful and masterful book that explores all of the different ways that we can surprise ourselves. Yvonne's path through family ties, hidden talents, and difficult decisions reveals the hard-won truth of an unforgettable character. I loved this book.

Robin Benway, National Book Award Winner and New York Times bestselling author of Far From the Tree

Colbert’s excellent ear for dialogue is on display in her latest, and she does a fantastic job of capturing the particular anxieties of a highly intelligent, talented teen at a crossroads, as well as the weight of microaggressions about everything from race to sexuality to economic status ... Moving and believable ... Perfect for fans of character-driven novels.

Booklist

Colbert delivers another emotionally layered story ... this accessible, nuanced novel with reward patient readers. 

Publishers Weekly

Colbert ... credibly constructs a young Black woman negotiating complicated family dynamics ... On the line between young adult and new adult, [Yvonne's] a compelling protagonist, and she’ll speak to readers thrown by the lack of certainty in their own futures.

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Representation
Books
Tina Dubois
+1 212 556 5600
Email Tina Dubois
Translation Rights
Roxane Edouard
+44 (0)20 7393 4491
Email Roxane Edouard