Cara Hoffman

Books Anna Stein, +1 212 556 5600 Email Anna Stein

Bernard Pepperlin

book | Fiction | 2019
US → HarperCollins (Ed. Claudia Gabel)

Bernard Pepperlin is the first installment in a two book series

Winner of an Audiofile Award

A drowsy Dormouse has been stuck inside a perpetual Sunday afternoon with the Hatter and the March Hare for what seems like forever. But when girl in a blue dress crashes the Hatter’s tea party, the Dormouse feels more awake than he has in a long time. He wishes he could follow her and be a part of her adventure. 

As luck would have it, a surprising twist of fate sends the Dormouse on an adventure of his own, where he must not, cannot, fall asleep. For he is destined to save a magical world outside Wonderland, and it will take all his courage (and a few new friends) to do it. 

A whimsical yet thrilling adventure that will burrow a place in the reader’s hearts for ages to come, Bernard Pepperlin is a classic in the making.

Rights

Film Rights

Available

Contact Anna Stein for more information

Roxane Edouard manages the translation rights for Bernard Pepperlin

Reviews

What do you get when you put one lost little mouse into a big city filled with singing cockroaches, hungry falcons, magic teapots, and conniving weasels? An utterly charming, delightful tale of bravery and friendship! 

Bobbie Pyron
Award winning author of A Pup Called Trouble

Everything a fantasy should be and more.

Kirkus (Starred)
Full Review

Hoffman gives additional sly nods to Carroll’s classic (a queen in a red dress who runs a diner) and includes nonsensical verse of variable cleverness, creating a quirky flight of fancy with a rich lineage.

Publisher's Weekly

A fun and intriguing read for strong younger readers and reluctant older readers who want a dash of adventure with their anthropomorphic characters. A great read-alike for fans of Roald Dahl, E.B. White, and Katherine Applegate.

School Library Journal

The result is a witty, clever, sometimes scary, beautifully voiced entertainment for all ages.

Audiofile Award

Representation
Books
Anna Stein
+1 212 556 5600
Email Anna Stein
Translation Rights
Claire Nozieres
+44 (0)20 7393 4425
Email Claire Nozieres
Translation Rights
Roxane Edouard
+44 (0)20 7393 4491
Email Roxane Edouard