Fiona’s work in theatre includes Coolatully (winner of the 2014 Papatango New Writing Prize) at the Finborough Theatre in London, and for Mead Theatre Lab in Washington DC; Deluge (winner of the 2014 Eamon Keane Full-Length Play Award) and The Strange Death of John Doe (2018 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize Finalist) at Hampstead Theatre Downstairs; The Annihilation of Jessie Leadbeater (ALRA); The Ceasefire Babies (NT Connections) and Ms Y (short) as part of the Young Vic’s Five Plays.  

Fiona has been the recipient of the Irish Theatre Institute’s Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary and Residency Award in association with the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, a Cill Rialaig Artist residency, a Peggy Ramsay Foundation grant, and a MacDowell Colony Fellowship (subsequently being selected for honorary designation as a Stanford Calderwood Fellow for 2018). She has been on attachment at the National Theatre Studio and is currently under commission to the Bridge Theatre. Screen work in development includes Caroline for Adorable Media/Samson Films/RTE and an original TV pilot for Firebird Pictures. Her work is published by Nick Hern Books and Methuen Drama.




Original pilot commission

Firebird Pictures
In development

Original Pilot Commission

Adorable Media / Samson Films / RTE
In development



Adaptation of the novel by Matthew Stewart - in development

Grapevine Shoot Productions

Adaptation of the Colm Toibin novel - in development

Bridge Theatre
Director Edward Hall

Finalist: 2018 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

Hampstead Theatre
Director George Turvey
Writer Fiona Doyle

A new play written in association with Papatango Theatre Company. 
Academy of Live and Recorded Arts
Writer Fiona Doyle

Play for National Theatre for NT Connections 2018.

The National Theatre
Director Diyan Zora

Ms Y

Young Vic
Director Anna Ledwick
  • Elaine Cassidy
  • Gary Lilburn
  • Edward Macliam
  • Charlotte Randler
  • Thriller set on an isolated farm where nature is becoming ever more unpredictable and dangerous.

    Winner: Eamon Keane Full-length Play Award

    Hampstead Theatre
    Director David Mercatali
  • Charlie De Bromhead
  • Yolanda Kettle
  • Kerr Logan
  • Eric Richard
  • Play set in rural Ireland about the challenges facing a young generation and the seductive pull of emigration.

    Winner: Papatango New Writing Prize

    Finborough Theatre
    Director Mark Maughan

    Play looking at conflict in Ireland across three generations

    Courtyard Theatre
    Director Lucy Allan
  • Christina Carty
  • Kathryn O'Reilly
  • Rachel Wilcock
  • Short play presented as part of Miniaturists

    Arcola Theatre
    Director Rebecca Hill

    Presented as part of Little Pieces of Gold

    Southwark Playhouse
    Director Lucy Allan
  • Kathryn O'Reilly
  • Steven McNicoll
  • Short play presented as part of Miniaturists

    Arcola Theatre

    Shortlisted: Eamon Keane Full-Length Play award

    Winner: Play for the Nation's Youth