Jennifer Ryan

Books Alexandra Machinist, +1 212 556 5600 Email Alexandra Machinist

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

book | Fiction | Feb 2017
UK → HarperCollins (Ed. Cassie Browne)
US → Crown Publishing (Ed. Hilary Teeman)

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir has been chosen for the February 2017 Indie Next List

Through letters and journals, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.

An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.

Rights

Audio Rights

Unavailable

Sophie Baker manages the translation rights for The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

Translation Rights Sold

Chinese Simple
Mainland China
Shanghai 99
Czech
World
Argo Publishers
Dutch
World
House of Books
Estonian
World
Eesti Raamat
French
World
Editions Albin Michel
German
World
Kiepenheuer & Witsch
Italian
World
Feltrinelli
Lithuanian
World
Lithuanian Writers' Union
Norwegian
World
Gyldendal Norsk Forlag
Polish
World
Czarna Owca
Portuguese
Brazil
Editora Intrinseca
Portuguese
Portugal
Editorial Presenca
Spanish
World
Maeva Ediciones
Swedish
World
Forum
Reviews

Lyrical, poetic, emotional, funny, endearing, surprising – it is a masterpiece.

Veronica Henry, author of 'An Eligible Bachelor'

There's so much happening in Chilbury: intrigue, romance and an unforgettable cast of characters who aren’t always as they appear. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a charming slice of English wartime life that warms the soul like a hot toddy.

Martha Hall Kelly, New York Times bestselling author of 'Lilac Girls'

I am completely and utterly in love with this book. What a joy! It may be in my all-time top five - I just adore every single thing about it.

Jill Mansell, author of 'You and Me, Always'

I adored it

Alexandra Brown, author of 'Not Just for Christmas'

A delightful and oh-so-authentic evocation of village
life during the last war, with endearing characters and an intriguing storyline, which I found very hard to put down. It manages to be sad and funny,  exciting and heart-warming, all at the same time. Quite an  achievement. 

Barbara Erskine, author of 'Kingdom of Shadows'

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir sinks you deep inside the rich, intricate atmosphere of an English village in the middle of war, when quiet lives are upended and secrets unravel. With her unforgettable characters and vivid narrative, Jennifer Ryan creates the kind of wartime novel that plays out over the intimate territory of the human heart—full of soul, full of hope. You’ll be thinking about this book long after the last page turns.

Beatriz Williams, author of 'A Hundred Summers' and 'The Secret Life of Violet Grant'

World War II in an English village seen through the eyes of the most delicious cast of characters you’ll ever meet—The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is a masterpiece of secrets, misdirection, village gossip, and gleeful disregard for anything but the main chance, as the Home Front learns to carry on. Seldom do you find a writer with such a deft touch—Jennifer Ryan sweeps the reader along to the very last page in a remarkable debut.

Charles Todd, author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries and the Bess Crawford mysteries

Jennifer Ryan’s charming debut interweaves many women’s voices to create a strong chorus that rings out with heart and the celebration of life… Fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the TV series Home Fires should put this uplifting, absorbing novel high on their reading lists.

Historical Novels Review

Barbara Pizio
RT Book Reviews

A delightful debut.

Kim Hubbard, People Picks, The Best New Books
People Magazine

This atmospheric debut, based on the author's own family history, had me sniffing copiously.

Daily Mail

Courageous or fearful, loving or cunning, their voices build a wonderfully idiosyncratic and gripping picture of a small community which will be turned upside down by the encroaching war.

Sunday Express

Wonderfully warm...a life-affirming tale of the power of community spirit

Press Assocation

Representation
Books
Alexandra Machinist
+1 212 556 5600
Email Alexandra Machinist
Books
Karolina Sutton
+44 (0)20 7393 4428
Email Karolina Sutton
Translation Rights
Sophie Baker
+44 (0)20 7393 4425
Email Sophie Baker