Madison Smartt Bell

Books Jane Gelfman, Email Jane Gelfman

The Color of Night

book | Fiction | Apr 2010
US & Canada → Vintage
A stunning novel that burns to the touch.

Mae, a blackjack dealer in a Las Vegas casino, spends her free time wandering the desert with a rifle, or sitting in her trailer obsessively watching replays of an old lover escaping the wreckage of 9/11. What she sees in those images is different from what the rest of us see. She revels in the pure anarchy, thrills at the destruction. These images recall memories of a childhood marked by unthinkable abuse, of her drift into a cult that committed the most shocking crime of the '60s, of her life since then as a feral and wary outsider, caught in a swirl of events at once personal, political, mythic.

Madison Smartt Bell is one of America’s most critically acclaimed authors. The Color of Night is a taut, terrifying tale: it will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy, as well as to his own avid fans.
Rights

Sophie Baker manages the translation rights for The Color of Night

Co-agents

Translation Rights Sold

French
World
Editions Actes Sud
German
World
Liebeskind Verlag
Media
The Color of Night
Reviews

A truly unnerving mythical novel that asks us to piece together what is left of a shattered collective unconscious. Bell's devastated, traumatized characters surf the debris of who we are and where we've been. A.M. Homes, author of This Book Will Save Your Life

A work that makes lucid the shadows and darkening corners that were encroaching on an America increasingly lost to its own history and self-respect. . . . As unforgettable as the events that inspired it. Robert Stone, author of Dog Soldiers
Full Review

In this sharp blade of a novel, every word is weaponized as Bell stands at the portal to chthonic evil.
Booklist
Full Review

A hybrid of mid-career Cormac McCarthy and the film collaborations of Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez. . . . Bell's skills as a novelist are amply in evidence.
Kirkus

As his avid admirers will be happy to tell you, if you haven't read him, you don't know what you're missing. The Color of Night is characteristically brilliant and compelling, a terrifying vision of American dreaming. It may not be pretty, but it's certainly beautiful. Michael Herr
Full Review

The Color of Night is as unforgettable as the events that inspired it. Robert Stone
Full Review

Representation
Books
Jane Gelfman

Email Jane Gelfman
Books
Jonny Geller
+44 (0)20 7393 4357
Email Jonny Geller
Translation Rights
Sophie Baker
+44 (0)20 7393 4425
Email Sophie Baker