Monica McInerney


View PDF version


Monica McInerney grew up in a family of seven children in the Clare Valley of South Australia, where her father was the railway stationmaster. She is the author of the bestselling novels A Taste for It, Upside Down Inside Out, Spin the Bottle, The Alphabet Sisters, Family Baggage and a collection of short fiction, All Together Now, published internationally and in translation. In 2006 she was the ambassador for the Australian Government initiative Books Alive, with her novella Odd One Out. Her novel, Those Faraday Girls, won the General Fiction Book of the Year at the 2008 Australian Book Industry Awards and All Together Now was short-listed in the same category in the 2009 Australian Book Industry Awards. At Home with the Templetons was a huge success in 2010 and was followed by a sequel to The Alphabet Sisters entitled Lola’s Secret. Her latest book Hello from the Gillespies was published by Penguin in 2014. She currently lives in Dublin with her Irish husband.

Current Publishers


Publishers Worldwide

See Current Publishers

Long a bestselling author in her native Australia, McInerney is becoming a must-read author for women's fiction fans around the world... McInerney is a perfect mix of the sweet humor of Maeve Binchy and the contemporary reality of Liane Moriarty.

Huffington Post USA
on Hello From The Gillespies

More on Hello From The Gillespies


  • RT @AnitaHeiss: We had over 120 submissions for the #GROWINGUPABORIGINALINAUSTRALIA anthology, but we could only publish 52. All other writ…

    RT @1city1book: It's the last week of #1city1book but still LOADS of events to choose recitals, art talk, author discussion, t…

    What a beautiful cover @NoelleHarrison. I can't wait to read what's inside.