Sarah Barrie

Books Clare Forster, Curtis Brown Australia Email Clare Forster

Devil's Lair

book | Fiction | Jun 2019
ANZ → Harlequin Books

For readers of The Dark Lake and The Dry, comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author Sarah Barrie.


A lonely widow, a sinister act, a remote mansion with a dark past...

After the violent death of her husband, Callie Jones retreats to a cottage in the grounds of an old mansion in Tasmania. The relative remoteness of the place and the wild beauty of the Tasmanian landscape are a balm to her shattered nerves and the locals seem friendly, particularly horseman Connor Atherton and his siblings at the nearby property, Calico Lodge.

But all is not well: the old mansion has a sinister past, one associated with witchcraft and murder. As Callie is threatened by odd events in the night and strange dreams overtake her sleep, she begins to doubt her own sanity. What's really going on beneath the surface of this apparently peaceful town? Are her friends and neighbours really who they seem? As events escalate, Callie starts to realise that the mansion may hold the key to unlocking the mystery, but the truth might have as much power to destroy as it does to save.

Rights

Film Rights

Available

Contact Clare Forster for more information

Kate Cooper manages the translation rights for Devil's Lair

Representation
Books
Clare Forster
Curtis Brown Australia
Email Clare Forster
Translation Rights
Kate Cooper
+44 020 7393 4425
Email Kate Cooper