Jake Arnott

Jake Arnott


The Long Firm was the bestselling debut novel of 1999. Harry Stark, the charismatic anti-hero of The Long Firm, appeared in the next two of Jake's novels, He Kills Coppers and Truecrime. Johnny Come Home followed in 2006 and the highly acclaimed The Devil's Paintbrush in 2009.

The Long Firm was made into a four-part series for BBC2 in 2004 adapted by Joe Penhall, directed by Bille Eltringham and starring Sir Derek Jacobi and Mark Strong. The series was nominated for the Best Drama Serial and Best Actor Awards at the BAFTAs.

Subsequently, his second novel, He Kills Coppers, was made into a critically acclaimed three part series for ITV1, starring Rafe Spall and Kelly Reilly. He is currently developing television projects with Red Arrow and Pulse.

His sixth novel, The House of Rumour, was published by Sceptre in July 2012.