Margaret Atwood wins Spanish 'Nobel Prize' 2008

Margaret Atwood (c) Reuters

July 03, 2008

Margaret Atwood has won the prestigious Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature 2008.

This is the most important literary award in Spain for international authors and is regarded as the equivalent to the Nobel Prize in the Spanish-speaking world. The judges recognized Margaret Atwood as "the leading figure in Canadian literature and one of the most outstanding voices in contemporary fiction".

Margaret Atwood commented, "I am thrilled and honoured to have been awarded this highly important prize. The Prince of Asturias Awards are not only a great tribute to literature, the humanities, and the sciences, but also to the universal project of building a sane, human society."

Margaret Atwood is published by Ediciones B in Spanish and her novels have been translated into thirty-one languages worldwide.

Related Agents

Translation Rights Besty Robbins Betsy Robbins
+44 (0)20 7393 4425 Betsy's Profile

Books Vivienne Schuster © Toby Amies Vivienne Schuster
+44 (0)20 7393 4400 Vivienne's Profile