Spooner

by Pete Dexter Fiction

  • US Grand Central Publishing (2009, Ed. Deb Futter)
  • UK Atlantic Books (Ed. Ravi Mirchandani)

This title comes from one of America's finest living writers, Pete Dexter, US National Book Award-winning author of Paris Trout. This is a riotous and dazzling comic story of resilience and love, for fans of John Irving and Jonathan Franzen.

Warren Spooner is born in rural Georgia, on the first Sunday of December 1956, after a prolonged and unhappy labour in a makeshift delivery room. His troubled birth is swiftly followed by his father's untimely death - and young Spooner is left to get on with growing up, without even a memory of his daddy's face. Spooner makes it into minor league baseball, but an injury to his throwing arm relegates him to the sidelines, and dashes his hopes of making it to the big-time. But the young man is nothing if not resilient, standing up to tragedy and adversity in his own dark (often extremely dark) ways.Through it all his step-father - Calmer Ottoson - stands by, determinedly trying to save his step-son, yet utterly powerless to do so.

From Spooner's troubled childhood, to his troubled adolescence and violent and troubled adulthood, Pete Dexter tells an entirely gripping story of one man's inexhaustible patience tested to the limits as he struggles to rescue a step-son he will never understand.
Spooner UK Cover
Katie McGowan

Katie McGowan manages the translation rights for Spooner
See Katie's Profile

Our Co-agents

Choose a language below to see co-agent details

Language
film rights

✓ Available
Contact Esther Newberg for more information
Esther's Profile >

audio rights

✓ Available
Contact Alice Lutyens for more information
Alice's Profile >

Translation Rights Sold
French
World
Editions de l'Olivier
Italian
World
Einaudi Editore