Dragonborn (Flaxfield Quartet)

by Toby Forward Fiction

  • UK & Comm Walker Books (January 2011)
  • US Bloomsbury Publishing

Dragonborn is the first of four stunningly atmospheric, magical stories about Sam, a 12-year-old apprenticed to a powerful wizard named Flaxfield.

After Flaxfield’s sudden death, Sam will find that he has a great destiny to fulfill. The battle lines are drawn between good and evil and Sam must play a crucial part if the forces of light are to triumph. Magic has over the course of many years been corrupted, misused and wasted.

Unbeknownst to Sam Flaxfield was the strongest warrior in the recovery of magic for its proper purpose. With his death that mantle must pass to Sam. But confusion reigns in the aftermath of his passing. Flaxfield has kept Sam hidden for the 6 years he has been apprenticed to him and Sam has lost everything with his death. Flaxfield’s previous apprentices are distrustful of this taciturn boy. One force is counting on that distrust, indeed is doing everything they can to stoke it, as their best chance for control over magic has opened up and they start to close in on Sam. Soon Sam is on the run and must navigate a world outside of Flaxfield’s, where nobody is quite what they seem.
Dragonborn US

Agent Representation

Books Felicity Felicity Blunt
+44 (0)20 7393 4395
Felicity's Profile >

Translation Rights Sophie Harris Sophie Harris
+44 (0)20 7393 4425
Sophie's Profile >