Audrey Coulthurst

Books Alexandra Machinist, +1 212 556 5600 Email Alexandra Machinist

Of Fire And Stars

A Parnassus Next YA Book Club Selection
book | Fiction | Nov 2016
US & Canada → Balzer & Bray (Ed. Kristin Daly Rens)

Previously entitled A Hidden Affinity

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner’s Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought—and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

Rights

Audio Rights

Available

The audio rights are handled by Balzer & Bray.

Film Rights

Available

Contact Alexandra Machinist for more information

Roxane Edouard manages the translation rights for Of Fire And Stars

Translation Rights Sold

German
World
cbt Verlag
Portuguese
Brazil
Universo dos Livros
Reviews

A deeply romantic, bold and nuanced fantasy. You will be captivated by Denna and Mare and their star-crossed love for each other.

Malinda Lo, author of "Ash and Huntress"

Coulthurst's debut is an absolute delight; I loved seeing these smart, fierce princesses fall in captivating, slow-burn love as they investigate political assassinations and unravel magical conspiracies.

Corinne Duyvis, author of "Otherbound" and "On the Edge of Gone"

I devoured Of Fire and Stars in two sittings; it's a delightful debut, full of all the things I like best in a fantasy story, including not one, but two wonderful heroines. I'm looking forward to seeing what Audrey does in the future!

Mercedes Lackey, author of The Herald Spy series

Romantic, compelling, and bursting with fascinating characters, Of Fire and Stars is the fantasy novel we've all been waiting for.

Amy Tintera, author of "Ruined"

A romantic fantasy that will appeal to those who appreciate character-driven novels. 

Kirkus
Full Review

The gentle LGBTQ romance will win over many teens.

School Library Journal
Full Review

A spectacular debut.

Publishers Weekly (starred)
Full Review

High-fantasy novels with LGBT love stories at their centre are few and far between, and this is done in a lovely fashion... A worthy debut that succeeds as both an adventure and a romance.

Booklist
Full Review

Refreshing [...] This book is bold enough to create a world that moves beyond the prejudices we are still fighting in our real world.


Caitlyn Paxson
NPR
Full Review

Representation
Books
Alexandra Machinist
+1 212 556 5600
Email Alexandra Machinist
Books
Steph Thwaites
+44 (0)20 7393 4411
Email Steph Thwaites
Translation Rights
Roxane Edouard
+44 (0)20 7393 4491
Email Roxane Edouard