Books  |  Nov 3, 2016

Curtis Brown authors nominated for 2017 Carnegie Medal

Four Curtis Brown authors have been nominated for the 2017 Carnegie Medal, one of the UK's oldest and most prestigious Children's Book Awards.

Among those nominated were Eve Ainsworth’s Crush, Martyn Bedford’s Twenty Questions for Gloria, Sarra Manning’s London Belongs to Us and Nicci Cloke’s Follow Me Back.

Previous winners include Alan Garner, Sally Gardener, Patrick Ness, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman and C.S. Lewis.

Crush is the second novel from Eve Ainsworth, and a pitch-perfect exploration of love at its most powerful, addictive and destructive when Anna's new relationship for the charming Will gives way to something darker when he shows another side.

Martyn Bedford's Twenty Questions for Gloria shows us what happens when attraction goes too far. When the exotic Uman sweeps Gloria off her feet, she is smitten, and by the time she learns the truth, Gloria is a long way from home . . . and the whole country wants to know: Where’s Gloria?

Sarra Manning's London Belongs to Us follows Sunny and her friends as they cross London one night, chasing an errant boyfriend from Crystal Palace to Alexandra Palace. 

In Nicci Cloke's Follow Me Back, Lizzie Summersall goes missing. When Aiden finds out that she had been talking to strangers on Facebook, and the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her.

Winners of the Carnegie Medal will be announced on  Monday 19 June 2017. The complete list of nominations is available here.