Books  |  Nov 8, 2011

Dublin Literary Award Longlist Announced

The 2012 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was launched this week by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, who announced the 147 long listed titles. Brock Clarke, Jennifer Egan, Howard Jacobson, Guy Gavriel Kay, Karl Marlantes, David Mitchell, Jose Luis Peixoto, Daniel Silva and Elif Shafak have all been nominated for the €100,000 prize which has been awarded annually since 1996 to a novel written in, or translated into, English. The titles are nominated by libraries across the world and this year’s award saw nominations come in from libraries in 122 cities in 45 different countries.

The Winnipeg Public Library nominated Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay and the National Library of Turkey in Ankara nominated Elif Shafak’s The Forty Rules of Love. Brock Clarke has been nominated by the Boston Public Library for Exley, the story of one boy’s efforts to save the man he thinks is his father. Following on from her recent International Author of the Year Award at the Galaxy National Book Awards, Jennifer Egan has been nominated by 5 libraries for her Pulitzer prize-winning novel A Visit From the Goon Squad. Another author adding a nomination to a list of existing awards is Howard Jacobson, whose novel The Finkler Question won the 2010 Man Booker Prize and has now been nominated by the Municipal Library of Prague. Karl Marlantes has been nominated by 7 libraries for his epic war novel Matterhorn, which transforms the tragedy of Vietnam into a powerful and universal story of courage, camaraderie, and sacrifice. NewYork Times-bestselling author Daniel Silva was nominated by the Biblioteca Publica Municipal do Porto in Portugal for his thriller The Rembrandt Affair.

Jose Luis Peixoto was nominated by 4 libraries for The Piano Cemetery, in which the true story of the Portuguese marathon-runner, Francisco Lazaro, is woven into a rich narrative of love, betrayal, domestic happiness and dashed hopes. With nominations from 13 different libraries across the world, David Mitchell’s The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet was the second most-nominated book on the longlist, after Room by Emma Donoghue. The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet has received huge critical acclaim and won The Commonwealth South Asia and Europe Writers' Prize earlier this year.

The shortlist for the award will be announced by the judging panel on the 12 April 2012 and the winner will be revealed on the 13 June.

The full list of nominated authors can be seen at

Involving ↓