Books  |  Aug 19, 2019

Five Curtis Brown authors make the 2020 ‘Lollies’ shortlist

Jo SimmonsGreg James and Chris SmithSteven Butler and Matt Carr have all been shortlisted for the Lollies Book Awards 2020, amongst a total shortlist of twelve books. The Laugh Out Loud Book Awards (the Lollies) celebrates the best and funniest children’s books in the UK and Ireland, with the winning books voted for and chosen by children themselves. Jo Simmons’ I Swapped My Brother on The Internet and Greg James and Chris Smith’s Kid Normal and the Rogue Heroes have both been shortlisted for the 9-13 category, Steven Butler’s The Nothing to See Here Hotel has been shortlisted for the 6-8 category, while Matt Carr’s Spyder has been shortlisted for the picture book category.

The second book in the Kid Normal series, Greg James and Chris Smith’s Kid Normal and the Rogue Heroes follows the adventures of Murph and his crime-busting crew, the Super Zeroes. They’re living proof that being awesome isn’t about having special powers. But far away in a top-secret prison, the world’s scariest supervillain has just broken a thirty year silence. His first words? ‘Bring Kid Normal to me!’ With illustrations by Erica Salcedo.

I Swapped My Brother on the Internet by Jo Simmons, illustrated by Nathan Reed is a hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong: everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another – but for Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality!

Steven Butler’s The Nothing to See here Hotel is a hotel for magical creatures, where weird is normal for Frankie Bannister and his parents who run the hotel. First in a fabulously funny and magical series, with illustrations by Steven Lenton.

It’s not easy being a super special secret agent when you’re only as big as a pin badge. But when a birthday cake is under threat, Spyder is called upon. Will Spyder save the day, AND the party? The second hilarious picture book book from Matt Carr, the author of Superbat.

Voting has now opened, and the winners of each category will be announced in early 2020.